Active Now

Spunky
Malizz
my2cents
Shuhak
Discussion » Questions » Military » Americans, are you aware of the ongong sacrifices our veterans make and are you doing anything to help?

Americans, are you aware of the ongong sacrifices our veterans make and are you doing anything to help?

Posted - July 3, 2016

Responses

• That's ridiculous.

July 3, 2016 8:20 PM MDT

• I agree, and anybody who opines different without the courtesy of research or the tragedy of family or personal experience Is at best ignorant and a lame try at childish shock.

July 3, 2016 8:34 PM MDT

I am a Vietnam veteran and I want to thank Just Asking for publicly recognizing our veterans. I am disappointed in some of the responses here. Did I know when I enlisted in the Army that at one point, my dirty, greasy hands would one day be the only thing holding my best friend's intestines inside his body while he breathlessly begged me to save his life? No, I did not. Did I know when I enlisted that the simple act of setting foot on the soil of the Republic of Vietnam would expose me to one of the most poisonous defoliants ever developed by the human race and would possibly lead to my son's birth defects? No, I did not. I was in Vietnam from September 1971 to September 1972. This was the height of Nixon's withdrawal program. I used to have a patch that said, "Vietnam - If you ain't been there, shut the f--- up."  

July 3, 2016 8:40 PM MDT

• I thought for a minute to make my answer an indictment against the insensitive and ignorant. But there are things you can't teach. You either have them or you don't. You can't teach love for your land, you can't teach respect or commitment to principles. Or the feeling you get from wearing the flag of your country on your sleeve. On your uniform. To represent as part of the Army, your country, the country of your father and your grandfather.