Discussion » Questions » Jobs » What would you do /say in this position?

What would you do /say in this position?

As a child care provider or nanny.. during your break time (nap for baby) would you extend yourself above most duties discussed for the job? I am interested in a position that dseems to fit well for hours I'm searching , and perhaps pay, but the parents are already asking that the nanny do other things that are not 'expected' of her...during naps. In previous positions, this is the most down time a nanny would have in a day- a 10 hour day. Folding laundry is definitely something I've always open to or putting away dishes, but as far as other tasks around the house, I'm not sure it is really included in the pay (it is not) and I'm there for the CHILD, not to be a housekeeper when they nap..I used to be an assistant teacher so I'm great at including one on one educational activites /abc's/music/reading during the day... and while I don't mind some laundry here or there, I just don't know how to approach this 'do more during her nap time' philosophy - how do you go about saying this to a parent?

Posted - April 25, 2017

Responses

I would tell them this is my rate for being a nanny. And this is my rate for being a nanny/housekeeper. (If you are willing to do housekeeping)
      April 25, 2017 2:26 PM MDT