Active Now

Harry
Kittigate
Jewels Vern
Plingsby
Lulu'sMom
Nevan B
BabyDol3o4
Baba
Patchouli
excon
TrumpianZeitgeist
Not Flo
Didge
Zack - Mr. GenXer
SapphicHeart
2Pink1s
Neelie
Echooos
Nice Jugs
VirginiaL

Polls

Just Asking's Polls

What is your opinion on the use of colorful language on AM?

We've previously voted and our current policies are based on what members requested. However, there have been a number of discussions about what should and shouldn't be allowed, as well as what our current policies actually mean, so we're revisiting the language guidelines. Please choose the option that best represents your feelings on cursing on answerMug. You can add details in the comments, but try to place an actual vote, so it will be counted. 
Show Results  |  Report  |  58 votes  |  2,498 views

Comments

110 comments

  • Karen
    Karen Karen
    That was supposed to be I loved getting to KNOW all of you, not injure...sheesh!! Tried to edit but it didn't give me option to sagve....just the option to edit...why am I not surprised that didn't work either? 
    October 12, 2016

  • Louie
    Louie Karen
    Good common sense answer.
    October 12, 2016 - 2 like this

  • Karen
    Karen Louie
    Thank you. :)
    October 12, 2016 - 1 likes this

  • excon
    excon

    Hello JA:

    Any word they use on network TV should be allowed on the internet...  Some networks said the word pussy..  Others did not...  So, I said pussy in my post. 

    excon


    October 12, 2016

  • Randy D
    Randy D excon
    I balk a little at the premise of using TV guidelines to determine things like this, because over time, the powers that govern television programming up their antes in the race for ratings.  They have to push envelopes daily to compete with each other, and playing to the lowest common denominator is the best way they've found to do it. 
    ~

    October 12, 2016 - 4 like this

  • Silverwings
    Silverwings Randy D
    I tried to up your vote but it would not allow me to.
    October 12, 2016

  • Randy D
    Randy D Silverwings
    "Up" my vote?
    -

    October 12, 2016

  • Silverwings
    Silverwings Randy D
    Like your vote.
    October 12, 2016

  • Lago
    Lago Randy D
    I fully agree with your point. I could not have said better.

    October 12, 2016

  • Randy D
    Randy D Lago
    Thank you.
    ~

    October 12, 2016

  • WingedWonder
    WingedWonder Randy D
    I tried to up-vote you too and the system wouldn't let me.  by the way, by up-vote we mean "like" it.  I haven't been able to like any poll replies since the new site started up.
    October 13, 2016 - 1 likes this

  • Lago
    Lago excon
    You know excon, 
    With all due respect, 
    I have always admired your sense of measure.
    On this one however, I don't understand your use of the word while directly addressing a woman.
    L

    October 12, 2016

  • Randy D
    Randy D
    I think the poll should have included "none of the above" or "other answer" choices because even though I voted, the choice doesn't accurately reflect my position. 

    I chose "I don't believe in censorship, nothing should be banned."

    There is (or should be) a correct place for everything, and if/when certain content on the main room would be better posted in adult sections, moving it is a form of censorship that does not delete it entirely. There may be content that someone disagrees with its chosen location, but I don't think that justifies stifling the voice.

    ~

    October 12, 2016 - 2 like this

  • SapphicHeart
    SapphicHeart Randy D
    I agree, and I think we have about the same idea but I chose a different choice, mostly because of the no attacking allowed.
    October 12, 2016

  • Randy D

  • my2cents
    my2cents Randy D
    This poll is about the main q&a sections. 
    October 12, 2016 - 2 like this

  • Randy D
    Randy D my2cents
    Are you sure, My2Cents?  I don't see where you get that from; there's nothing in the question that specifies either way.
    ~

    October 12, 2016

  • my2cents
    my2cents Randy D
    Yes I am positive.  No one is talking about censoring the AdultMug section. 
    October 12, 2016

  • Randy D
    Randy D my2cents
    The question doesn't refer to either AM as a whole or portions thereof. 
    ~

    October 12, 2016

  • my2cents
    my2cents Randy D
    I am a moderator. Trust me this is about the main section not adult section. 
    October 13, 2016

  • Randy D
    Randy D my2cents
    It must be silently implied, or perhaps subject to interpretation. If you didn't write the poll, My, how can you definitively state its focus, especially when your premise is not stated therein?
    -

    February 2

  • Malizz
    Malizz
    You can't win trying to do it by coding. I don't card for vulgarity, but I think political correctness has gone too far. That's only me, and I know others disagree.

    For example, Ep didn't accept a reference to a football strip, nor my cat as pussy, though of course Trump's usage of the latter term can be thought offensive.

    October 12, 2016 - 3 like this

  • InternationalSpaceStation
    InternationalSpaceStation Malizz
    I agree. See, I'm a communist, and usually communists are HUGE on idpol and PC culture and all that BS. Now while it's to an extent important, I seriously think PCness has gotten TOO far and people can't stand even the slightest amount of offense. Of course some is necessary, but it's seriously been taken too far. 
    October 12, 2016 - 2 like this

  • SA (SuperA)  :)
    SA (SuperA) :)
    I agree with Goat.  No ban unless it's a personal attack on someone.
    October 12, 2016 - 3 like this

  • Element 99
    Element 99
    Just thinking of colorful language turns my face red and my lips blue. I certainly wouldn't use anything the trump might say. We do have an adult group and free-for-all. Let's keep the profanity there. I think the censure of my use of the word a** was a bit petty, especially since I have used it before.
    October 12, 2016 - 4 like this

  • Silverwings
    Silverwings Element 99
    It won't allow me to up your vote!!
    October 12, 2016

  • Lago
    Lago
    There should be a list. Period. That would eliminate ambiguity. 
    A list of words not to use directly or indirectly.  If I was a woman for example I would find it incredibly offensive if anybody use the P word for example under any circumstance. 

    October 12, 2016 - 3 like this

  • Silverwings
    Silverwings Lago
    I wanted to up your vote but It wont let me.
    October 12, 2016

  • Lago
    Lago Silverwings
    Why thank you Silver, it's always nice when someone takes the time and effort to write a little note of encouragement. 
    Thanks again.

    October 12, 2016

  • WingedWonder
    WingedWonder Lago
    You know Lago, as you suggest, I would venture a guess that a lot of women are insulted or offended by the word p*ssy.  I'm curious though how many men are offended by the word c*ck.  I bet not nearly as many.  Which causes me to scratch my head in bewilderment.  I can't help but wonder why there would be a difference.
    October 15, 2016

  • ForkNdaRoad
    ForkNdaRoad
    The only thing I would suggest leaving out of the main section are nude pics.

    I don't really care on the language etc., truly makes me no difference.

    October 12, 2016 - 1 likes this

  • Randy D
    Randy D ForkNdaRoad
    Nudity isnt allowed at all anywhere on AM. 

    ~

    October 12, 2016 - 2 like this

  • ForkNdaRoad
    ForkNdaRoad Randy D
    Good to know. Having a kid in the house, I'd hate for him to glance over and blamo, get smacked in the eyeballs with a faceful of 'nudiness' as he calls it. lmao


    October 13, 2016

  • Ozgirl 256
    Ozgirl 256
    Ok... I think this has gotten into a bit of a mess .. it's a good example of why test pipe are used often to eliminate ambiguity etc before the real poll is carried out ... And that's no reflection upon n you JA :)
    May I suggest a new poll with some clearly defined premises such as
    •  It applies to the non adult section only
    • No hate or attacking or denigrating speech anywhere
    • In the adult section we expect a certain amount of self moderation appropriate to the topic
    • Remember there may be under 18 muggers reading... Would you like your younger sister to read what you just wrote?
    • These are just examples of course and only you know where you want to take thisHope this helps clarify things ... Good luck lol




    October 12, 2016 - 3 like this

  • LavenderLace
    LavenderLace
    There needs to be some sort of moderation (censorship if you will) whether some like it or not. Every place we go in life, has some sort of structure or rules, otherwise many will abuse it. Give people an inch and they will take a mile. Although I think it should be a light hand of moderation and mostly to do with when someone is trying to put down or attack another. 

    I super like the idea of "limited to the main section".

    October 13, 2016

  • Louie
    Louie LavenderLace
    Intelligent answer. Good common sense is at a premium here.
    October 13, 2016 - 1 likes this

  • LavenderLace
    LavenderLace Louie
    Thank you. :-)
    October 14, 2016

  • President Silly vs. Sharonna
    President Silly vs. Sharonna
    Hello again.

    Picture having to COMB over every word looking for naughty words?   Come on.  I could see if someone was swearing up a storm or saying something attacking, but otherwise?  Shit, piss, crap, damn, hell, fk (not written out even) and the like?  WHo cares really?   Is this a big issue on here? 

    Then we need mods to erase and shame the swearer.  Then we need to contact the swearer and tell them why the words were removed.   Then what?  An argument over it?  Probalby.

    Do we need to waste all this time and energy on such boring drivel? 

    Let it go.   Who cares.

    October 13, 2016

  • JarJarBoom
    JarJarBoom
    I think we are all adults here to understand language and the context it is used. 
    October 13, 2016

  • WingedWonder
    WingedWonder
    There is not a single word that offends me.  Whether it's the three you mentioned in the poll, or body parts like p*ssy or c*ck, not even the word f*ggot.  I am only offended by how they are used or mis-used.  It is the intent behind the words that matters to me.  Many of these things are said in humorous ways not harmful ways.  Verbally abusing others should never be tolerated.  I think though, that being allowed to fully express oneself is allowing for truth and openness.  I realize that not everyone shares that opinion and might be highly offended by certain sentence enhancers.  This is a public forum however and there are many types of people and thoughts that make up the public who gather here.  Should these words be used in a kindergarten class?  No.  In a worship service?  Probably not.  By WingedWonder in a forum about Dumb*ss Donald or Hot guys....well yeah maybe.
    October 13, 2016 - 2 like this

  • WingedWonder
    WingedWonder WingedWonder
    By the way, I need to add that I did not actually cast a vote I merely shared my opinion.  None of the options presented reflected my feelings.  If there was one that offered "all words are ok if used responsibly, using them to attack and abuse other members is not acceptable" then I would have cast my vote for that one.  
    October 13, 2016

  • bhwilson
    bhwilson
    I am tired of foul language distorting the landscape. I censor my own occasional foul words. Excuse me, I have to go feed my p---y cat! 
    October 14, 2016 - 1 likes this

  • CartoonishSuperVillainy
    CartoonishSuperVillainy
    I find obscenity tends to be dependent upon context.  If someone drops a curse-word while in the process of making an especially astute observation or a very funny joke, then it's fine.  When the use of obscenity becomes repetitive and tedious and isn't part of a communication that has some redeeming value, then you venture into the realm of jagoffery.  
    October 15, 2016

  • fallnhope
    fallnhope
    As long as it's not used as a personal attack, I'm fine..... It's the context that matters more than the word itself.
    October 15, 2016 - 2 like this

  • SA (SuperA)  :)
    SA (SuperA) :) fallnhope
    Agreed
    October 15, 2016

  • Macnwny
    Macnwny
    I don't believe in censorship. As long as you can individually block those that use aggressive or hurtful language.
    October 15, 2016

  • flipper
    flipper
    I don't like fowl language.  I'm a chicken when it comes to fowl words!
    October 15, 2016 - 1 likes this

  • Andy B
    Andy B
    I voted "We should block anything that might be offensive in the main areas" because such words activate the filters in public libraries, making the site inaccessible there. It is not so bad when such language is used only in the Adult section because that section is filtered in libraries anyway, but the rest of the site shouldn't have to be.
    October 15, 2016

  • Andy B
    Andy B
    @excon

    The word "pussy" is filtered in public libraries even when it refers to a cat (for example, to find "Josie and the Pussycats" we have to search for "Josie and the Cats";). I think it is best to go by what is or isn't allowed in the libraries for reasons I stated in my other comment.

    October 15, 2016

  • DaydreambelieverTrumpDisbeliever
    DaydreambelieverTrumpDisbeliever
    I have no objection to colourful language as long as it's not being used to attack people.. or insult others..that's wrong.. it's disrespectful. Sexual words are fine but not if they are used to attack.. that again isnt nice
    November 10, 2016