Active Now

Malizz
Discussion » Questions » Health and Wellness » Are these the musings of a sane person?

Are these the musings of a sane person?

From Axios this morning:

" 5. Lysol fires back at Trump's medical musings  

Photo: Michael Reynolds/EPA/Bloomberg via Getty Images

President Trump said at yesterday’s briefing: "I'm not a doctor. But I’m like a person that has a good you-know-what."

His medical musings prompted pushback from medical professionals after he offhandedly suggested that ultraviolet light and disinfectant might be used to fight coronavirus:

So, supposing we hit the body with a tremendous — whether it's ultraviolet or just very powerful light — and I think you said that that hasn’t been checked, but you’re going to test it.  ... upposing you brought the light inside the body, which you can do either through the skin or in some other way, and I think you said you’re going to test that too.  It sounds interesting. ...
I see the disinfectant, where it knocks it out in a minute. One minute. And is there a way we can do something like that, by injection inside or almost a cleaning? Because you see it gets in the lungs and it does a tremendous number on the lungs. So it would be interesting to check that. So, that, you’re going to have to use medical doctors ... But ... it sounds interesting to me. 

Reckitt Benckiser, the maker of Lysol, said in a statement dated today, "Improper use of Disinfectants":

• "nder no circumstance should our disinfectant products be administered into the human body."

Posted - April 24, 2020

Responses

I agree.  
      April 24, 2020 10:09 AM MDT

If this works, maybe Trump can come up with a cure for cancer too. The sad thing is that there are people who cannot see the flaws in his thinking or the harm in his pondering these ideas in a public forum. 
      April 24, 2020 9:31 AM MDT

You're right.  Pretty scary that there are people who believe his ramblings.  
      April 24, 2020 9:59 AM MDT