Discussion » Questions » Religion and Spirituality » When and how did you become a Christian?

When and how did you become a Christian?

Posted - July 3, 2020

Responses

At my christening, I guess. I was held over a marbled sink/bath thingy, and the priest poured some freshly blessed holy water over my noggin. Then I was raised high for all to have a gander. 

July 3, 2020 5:52 PM MDT

"Sprinkling of babies is a scandalous waste of water." That was the title of my final year thesis when I earned my theology degree, and probably why my candidacy for the ministry was rejected.
    That kind of commitment can only be made by an adult, or at least a child old enough to vocalise the desire to be baptised and elucidate a valid reason why.
      July 4, 2020 12:59 AM MDT

I was not raised with any religion or discussion of religion in my family, and by the time I was in grade one it was illegal to discuss religion in school where I grew up , So never. 
      July 3, 2020 6:04 PM MDT

I was born and raised into it.  For generations now, my family has been Christian by faith, National Baptist by religion. It traces back at least to my maternal grandfather, who was born in the 1920s and raised in the American Midwest, and most likely back to his father’s time and his grandfather’s time.

You?

~

July 3, 2020 8:15 PM MDT