Active Now

Discussion » Questions » Education » How did you learn to type?

How did you learn to type?

I took a typing class in high school.

Electric typewriters were used in my school's typing class. However, I practiced my typing on my father's manual typewriter. Typing on the manual typewriter was difficult after using an electric typewriter because I had to exert more pressure on each key to produce the desired letter/numeral, etc.

Posted - June 22, 2021

Responses

I had a typing class in high school ... and when we were supposed to be doing "free" practice, I typed insulting letters to a classmate.
    He did the same to me. 
    Then we would place the letters in each others lockers.
    Which caused a bit of drama when his girlfriend opened one of my letters, thinking he was "cheating" on her.  LOL
    He dumped her for being untrustworthy.
      June 22, 2021 8:34 AM MDT

I studied chickens (I am a hunt and peck typer). Cheers!
      June 22, 2021 8:42 AM MDT

I acquired an ancient 1920's or 30's typewriter when I was a kid and practiced on that.

The first problem I had was how to make a space between the words. This post was edited by Kittigate at June 22, 2021 1:11 PM MDT
      June 22, 2021 9:22 AM MDT

I took a typewriting class.  I am also a certified PBX operator. 

June 22, 2021 10:06 AM MDT

I had a manual typewriter when I was in junior high school and used the hunt and peck system.  When I got to high school, I took a commercial course and learned to type properly on an electric typewriter.
      June 22, 2021 10:18 AM MDT