Active Now

Malizz
Randy D
Discussion » Questions » Current Events and News » Should women be required to register for the draft? Senate is considering this now.

Should women be required to register for the draft? Senate is considering this now.

Posted - July 23, 2021

Responses

Currently, there is only the need for men to register with the Selective Service - there isn't a draft and hasn't been one since 1973.  With an all-volunteer military, there isn't a need for a draft - men or women.
      July 23, 2021 7:41 AM MDT

Senate considering requirement for women to register for the selective service (the draft) 
    (I will reword my question)
      July 23, 2021 7:51 AM MDT

I am a veteran of the United States Armed Forces. One of the things I learned VERY WELL is the absolute worst thing for unit cohesion and accomplishment of the mission is to have people in the military who are there for the wrong reasons, number one of which is people who don’t want to be there. As such, I believe in an all-volunteer force. I’d rather have fewer people who want to be there than a lot of people who don’t want to be there. The differences in performance and attitudes are like night and day. None of my above-stated opinion is hinged on gender. 

~

July 23, 2021 7:55 AM MDT

I was posting my answer just as you changed the question, so I am posting this addendum: changing times have made it more difficult for military recruiting, so the foresight of increasing potential numbers by added women to the Selective Service roles is possibly one of the reasons behind the proposed senate action. Another possible reason is a result of the quest for gender equality.