Active Now

CosmicWunderkind
Danilo_G
my2cents
Discussion » Questions » Arts » Do you understand the color wheel?

Do you understand the color wheel?

I'm studying color theory. It's not as easy as you think. The best thing to do is to get my paints out and start mixing. There is confusion about what is purple, violet, magenta, rose, mauve, and other shades of mixing primary and secondary colors. So what comes after tertiary colors? 

Red and blue makes magenta, but then there are so many shades of red and blue! 

I can't wait to get to the tints! 

Posted - April 2, 2017

Responses

There is no color called purple. It is an illusion produced when the eye sees mixed red and blue.

If you look at a rainbow you will probably see a space between blue and violet. That is indigo and most adults can't see it. Some young people can see it. Indigo is the color of "blue" jeans, "blue" corn, and eggplant/aubergine.

All biological eyes use the same system as color cameras and computer monitors: mixtures of red, blue, and green. They even use the same chemicals to filter those colors.
      April 2, 2017 7:23 PM MDT

Wow, I didn't know that Jewels.  Thanks! 
      April 7, 2017 2:12 AM MDT

Hi Marguerite, The Beloved~  What an exciting study!  Very cool.  I am far from an expert.  In fact, I have never taken a formal class in the study, but would like to someday.
    All I can offer is my personal experiences in dabbling with color and how it reacts with light and the images I am trying to portray.