Active Now

Malizz
Discussion » Questions » Education » Is there any benefit to being in an honors program if you're an adult returning to school?

Is there any benefit to being in an honors program if you're an adult returning to school?

I could see how being in a program would be beneficial if you're a young 'un and are planning on applying to a grad school with lots of competition, but if you're an adult returning and there's virtually no competition, does being part of an honors program matter? Or is it just a fun thing to do so you can say you did it?

Posted - December 3, 2018

Responses

I haven't done this, but I would say yeah, the benefit is just so you could say you did it, add to the triumph a little. It's possible too that it will give you some extra motivation, keep you feeling excited about it. But I wouldn't know, I was always a terrible student. Honestly it's a miracle I graduated High School
      December 3, 2018 11:05 PM MST

I wouldn't call it an honors program (YOU ARE SMART, JA.  It blows my mind how smart)

But I did go take a Master Body Worker program that you had to have a good average at school (not straight A's) and most people did not opt to take it.  I did because I thought it would look good on a resume'.

It helped a lot.  But it just gets you a foot in the door.  You then have to bring it.

I'd imagine an honors program would look good for the same reason.  It will help get you a good job, hopefully.

December 3, 2018 11:08 PM MST

Thank you. :) You're obviously no slouch either. 

I was offered admission into mine, but being in the honors program also lets you pay a reduced fee for classes, and so, for that reason, I am considering going for it, but beyond that I'm doubtful there's much value to it. Yours might be a little different though because every class and every certification means you're providing better care. I would think. 
      December 4, 2018 5:26 PM MST