Active Now

Slartibartfast
Discussion » Questions » Fill in the Blank » Without ______’s contributions, the world certainly would not be as we know it.

Without ______’s contributions, the world certainly would not be as we know it.

Fill in the blank.
Give as many examples as you like. 

Posted - August 12, 2019

Responses

• Oh, I am quite sure of my answer to this one.  Maybe its because I am a writer.  Maybe its because I love books.  Words are my medium, not spoken words, but rather the ones that fill blank pages like beautiful paints on a canvas. 

The list of historical and even some contemporary figures whom the human race are beholden to is a long one indeed.  Many are even controversial and open to interpretation.  I submit to you however, that without Johannes Gutenberg's contributions to all of us through the invention of the printing press the world would have advanced quite differently.  Perhaps if he hadn't brought about such a marvel at the time, someone else eventually might have.  These small revisions though could have had ripple effects causing many varied outcomes. 

I think of his contribution as significant because it completely changed our ability to disseminate information.  Now spreading faster and greater in volume, words of knowledge were able to grace quiet empty pages that had been anxiously waiting to be given a voice and something to say.  These pages, these books, made their way into longing hands that could hold them up before eyes wide with wonder and give drink to parched minds thirsting to learn. 

Much time has passed since 1445 when this new technology was birthed, yet I argue that even the year 2019, so far removed from that prior time, still stands on this firm and integral building block.  One of many blocks that have helped construct the foundation of society and eventually giving us the ability to reach our gleaming pinnacles of today. 
      August 12, 2019 3:48 PM MDT