Active Now

Danilo_G
CosmicWunderkind
my2cents
Discussion » Questions » Jobs » At work do you address a supervisor or manager by name or title, Mr. Mrs?

At work do you address a supervisor or manager by name or title, Mr. Mrs?

I work in a hospital.  I address my supervisors, managers and even the president/CEO by first name.  But recently I observed in a Walgreens a clerk. probably in her 50s having to address a manager in his 20s as "Mr."  Pretentious crap.

Posted - March 15, 2017

Responses

• Always by their first name. Sometimes by their nickname. When I was working for the Japanese the managing director got either a Mr Ohashi or Ohashi-san. Both were acceptable. (Japanese managing directors are one step up from God.)
      March 15, 2017 9:16 PM MDT

• That is probably for the best.  He might be a ninja and could kill you will his pinky if you were disrespectful.
      March 15, 2017 9:21 PM MDT

• Worse. On one occasion I stuffed things up and one of the Japanese guys came to see me. He said, "If you ever do this again I will bring a ceremonial knife into this office and watch you ritually disembowel yourself." 

I think he was joking but I never put him to the test. 
      March 15, 2017 10:32 PM MDT

• "Stuffed things up"?  Slang for "did it wrong"?
      March 16, 2017 9:04 AM MDT

• Yes indeed. Sometimes I forget that Australian slang is not universal. I think that one is actually British. 

BTW I may have just reported you accidentally. (I hit the "Report" button instead of the "Reply" button. Sorry.
      March 16, 2017 1:33 PM MDT

• AH! That explains the black van across the street.
      March 16, 2017 2:18 PM MDT

• But what does this reporting mean in the world of AM?
      March 16, 2017 2:34 PM MDT

I try not to speak their name. Their name summons evil, for they are the spawn of hell.
      March 15, 2017 9:22 PM MDT

• May the gods protect you.
      March 15, 2017 9:34 PM MDT