Active Now

Slartibartfast
Malizz
Discussion » Statements » Rosie's Corner » Are those who have had "formal" education always far more knowledgeable than those who are self-taught? Or sometimes not?

Are those who have had "formal" education always far more knowledgeable than those who are self-taught? Or sometimes not?

Posted - November 20, 2020

Responses

A bit of both, I think. Then there is this:

November 20, 2020 11:07 AM MST

I'm having a hard time trying to understand this E. It seems to me that it would be EXPERIENCE that educates after formal education has ended. In school you learn about things that happened which you may or may not remember. Historical dates. How to do things. Some of which you retain and some of which you forget because it really isn't needed in your day-to-day life. What you EXPERIENCE can be amazing or it can be devastating. Of course we learn from that as well, right? I guess I'm just hung up on something that is interfering with my agreeing with Albert Einstein! Imagine that? Some chutzpah! I also wonder whether WISDOM fits in here anywhere? Thank you for your reply! :)
      November 21, 2020 2:43 AM MST

Always - no. Formal education is book smarts.  Self-taught is on-the-job-training. 

We've become accustomed to believing that those who've had a formal education are more knowledge than those who haven't (and the more prestigious the school, the more "superior" the knowledge it imparts).  However, while having a formal education may look good on a resume, it is no guarantee of superior knowledge.  However, not many people would want a self-taught brain surgeon operating on them.
      November 20, 2020 12:05 PM MST