Active Now

Spunky
Slartibartfast
Element 99
Malizz
Discussion » Questions » Random Knowledge » Why does Canada import maple syrup?

Why does Canada import maple syrup?

Posted - December 30, 2018

Responses

We have the best Maple Syrup in the world and we trade it for hemp products. 
      December 30, 2018 9:48 PM MST

• Well, I am Canadian but I’m no expert on American/ Canadian  trade deals. I’m guessing we chose to import mayple syrup cos you freakin’ Americans don’t realize the value of a good poutine. I think we should import poutine instead. That’s all I got  to contribute to Canadian  politics..or any politics for that matter:) 
      December 30, 2018 11:28 PM MST

Poutine with Maple Syrup.......  Please this has to be a joke. I have never once seen Poutine made with Maple Syrup.  Note, I have eaten a lot of poutine over the years, even a Quebecois would not call such a concoction Poutine. As far as Canada importing Maple Syrup, again please ..............
      December 31, 2018 6:11 AM MST

I can't speak to the poutine, but Canada does import syrup from the US. I was looking at the tariffs and one that Canada instituted against the US in retaliation was syrup. I initially thought it was a mistake- perhaps I misunderstood and Canada had decided to charge us a premium for their syrup instead. That would actually hurt. But, no, we are sending them our syrup. 
      December 31, 2018 1:10 PM MST

It has to be to control / regulate the global market.
    After all, Canada has a Strategic Maple Syrup Reserve.  They are the OPEC of maple syrup.
    So think along the lines of: Why would Iraq import oil from America?  Answer: to control the amount of oil on the world market.
      December 31, 2018 1:13 PM MST

i didnt knew that... where i live in quebec, we are known for our quality maple syrups....  i didnt knew USA produced maple syrups tho...