Active Now

Discussion » Statements » Rosie's Corner » "Keep your eye on the prize". Did you and have you won it? Do you still have a prize you'd like to win or are your aspirations behind you?

"Keep your eye on the prize". Did you and have you won it? Do you still have a prize you'd like to win or are your aspirations behind you?

Posted - July 12, 2020

Responses

I have reached most of the goals I set for myself in life with the exception of marriage and children.  At almost 75, I think that goal will wind up in the dustbin, but I cannot complain.  I have lived a full life with friends and family, a good job since graduating high school, good health and prosperity.  
      July 12, 2020 7:30 AM MDT

This may shock you or it might not. I've never really had any goals. Very vaguely I figgered I'd end up married with kids. My formal education stopped at junior college where I got an Associate Arts degree in Liberal Arts. I expected I'd be a secretary. I really had no specific aspirations. The one thing was a fantasy that if I were wealthy I'd spend my life going to schools universities and take classes in everything. See nothing serious. Over time I literally fell into accounting by realizing that when I was needed to help out in Accounting I LOVED IT. So I took night school classes in Accounting. Also Economics and Logic. I ended my work life as an Internal Auditor. Who knew?  I had a miscarriage during my first marriage. I had my son with my second husband. I should have given my son a sibling but truly I was not the maternal type and did not YEARN to be a mom. I was delighted with my son of course but had no desire for more. I think my life has really been based on happenstance good luck and serendipity. The best job I ever had fell into my lap. I did not have to seek it. A gal with whom I'd worked recommended me to a headhunter she knew and I went for the interview! Every job I'd get was better than the one before but it wasn't really more money or a title I wa