Active Now

DannyPetti
Discussion » Statements » Rosie's Corner » Obviously OF COURSE those with underlying conditions like heart disease diabetes, cancer were part of the virus test group. CORRECT?

Obviously OF COURSE those with underlying conditions like heart disease diabetes, cancer were part of the virus test group. CORRECT?

To ascertain whether or not having an underlying conditon would render the vaccine DANGEROUS for them. Right? Elsewise otherwise sidewise only healthy people could take it. Now how stupid would that be?

Posted - November 20, 2020

Responses

I'm not a doctor or biologist but as I understand it, a vaccine should not affect existing, different diseases because it is not attacking the body, although it may cause some side-effects in some people. It basically shows the immune system a chemical template of the new threat. Even so I can understand doctors being reluctant to try it on seriously ill people until a lot more experience has been gained.

The problem with diseases like cancer, diabetes and heart damage is that they weaken the body so it can't easily fight off real infections.

It was Covid that ended the life of a friend of  mine,  suddenly and rapidly but quite peacefully - but he was already weakened by a heart problem and advanced Alzheimer's. Two other patients in the same home survived it even though quite a bit older than him. Whether a vaccine might have saved him is a moot point we can never know, partly because looks as if that different vaccine types affect different age-groups of people in their own way.
      November 20, 2020 3:58 PM MST

My condolences on the loss of you friend.  
      November 20, 2020 8:16 PM MST