Active Now

CosmicWunderkind
Discussion » Statements » Rosie's Corner » Was the job you had most of your working life the one you thought you'd have or something else entirely?

Was the job you had most of your working life the one you thought you'd have or something else entirely?

Posted - January 22, 2021

Responses

Pretty much.  I graduated from high school, got a job as a legal secretary and I've been at that for the past 57 years.  The pay is higher in that career, so it never made any sense to me to take a job that paid much less.  
      January 22, 2021 8:13 AM MST

The SAME job for the SAME company for 57 years? Gee L that is worth a medal or something. It speaks well for the company and even weller of you. I think loyalty to a company is a good thing providing it is reciprocal and it is loyal to you. I started out as a file clerk. Then secretary. Ended up much to my surprise becoming an in-house accountant and then an internal auditor. Who'd have thunk it? It was an adventurous journey little of which I can take any credit for. I was so lucky. Things just dropped in my lap unsought through recommendations of others. I was never competitive or ambitious. I still am neither of those things. I just wanted to be happy doing whatever I did and I have been that. Happy! Thank you for your reply L. Oh I took Liberal Arts and got an AA Degree in LIberal Arts. Had no wish to be a teacher. What do you do with a Liberal Aarts degree? Besides becoming a progressive liberal politically? Kinda joking here! :)
      January 23, 2021 4:15 AM MST