Active Now

Pet Eater
my2cents
Discussion » Questions » Computers and the Internet » They expect me to buy Microsoft Word? I can't just have it for free? What is up with that?

They expect me to buy Microsoft Word? I can't just have it for free? What is up with that?

It used to be with the software. 

Posted - June 29, 2016

Responses

• I won't state the obvious.

Consider trying the Ubuntu operating system. It's free to download and has an excellent free support system. It's written in Lynux. Hence, its immune from worms, trojans, and viruses, and so hard to hack into that hackers don't bother. It has the same apps as written for Microsoft and Apple, user-friendly, with free tutorials on-line. It is written by geniuses who believe knowledge and communications should be free.

I'm not tech savvy but I can manage all my user needs with Ubuntu, and on the rare occasions when I do need help, the geeks at the IT shop in town can always help me for a modest price.

June 29, 2016 2:08 AM MDT

It used to be with what software? Please be clear.

Word has a long history going back to DOS versions, when it ranked behind WordPerfect. Its popularity soared as businesses started upgrading hardware to run Windows, just as Word was re-bundled into Microsoft Office 4.3 in the early 1990s. Unless there is some exception as rare as a lib doing actual work, no fully functional version was ever given away for free.

There are various deep discounts on the Microsoft Office suite. Students can buy it for next to nothing. Sometimes some emasculated version is sold with a machine. 

If you want functional business software for which you pay nothing, do not look to Microsoft. Instead go to Apache Open Office at https://www.openoffice.org/ . It takes a tiny amount of thinking and searching to see how to save Open Office files in Word format that can be shared with Word users, but you can do that and you can even change OpenOffice Writer's defaults to save as Word documents by default.