Active Now

Slartibartfast
Malizz
Discussion » Statements » Rosie's Corner » Some of us have no sense of direction (me) and some of us seem to have a compass built inside their brains (my friend OLD SCHOOL). How/why?

Some of us have no sense of direction (me) and some of us seem to have a compass built inside their brains (my friend OLD SCHOOL). How/why?

Can you not be that way? How do you go about developing a sense of direction or is it like talent? You either have it or you don't but it cannot be taught or learned.

It is not only frustrating and it is also frightening. Approaching someplace you know from a different direction makes it seem so strange and disorienting.

Posted - November 19, 2020

Responses

I studied meteorology for so long that directions became second nature to me.  I doubt I had a compass built into me, as although I can tell you where south, north, westsouthwest (etc.) are almost instantly, I can still get lost quite easily.

Once while hiking in the mountains, I ventured a yards off the trail  for a brief look at a rock formation.  When I turned back around the trial was gone.  I knew exactly where I was, and what direction the trail was, but I was completely lost.   (the trail was still only a few yards away, it just didn't look like a trail from my angle, or even from standing right next to it.)
      November 19, 2020 1:41 PM MST

So you have no sense of direction too but you also do? I'm confused Shuhak. Thank you for your reply! :)
      November 19, 2020 2:01 PM MST

Perhaps I spent too much time looking up (clouds, wind, etc.), but not enough time looking down.  
      November 19, 2020 2:20 PM MST

That m'dear strikes such a familiar chord with me. Always looking up and seeing all kinds of wondrous things. That's where rainbows live you know. So I wonder what looking down more would have bought us? We will never know. SIGH. Thank you for your reply! :)
      November 19, 2020 2:24 PM MST