Active Now

Flint Ironstag
Discussion » Questions » Games » What are the odds of an ordinary chess player taking on a GRAND MASTER and winning? Ever happen?

What are the odds of an ordinary chess player taking on a GRAND MASTER and winning? Ever happen?

Posted - December 9, 2017

Responses

EVER?  Probably. 

anything's possible.  Maybe the Grand Master was off his game that day.  I know of none.  I love chess, Rosie.  I am not that good at it.  But I have beaten better men than me by using strategy.

They think I am unschooled in chess and they get lazy.  Then I show them what I really know.

Checkmate.

But... .that would NEVER work if I played a Grand Master.   It cannot even work with someone whom a Grand Master beats.  I am no chess player at all compared to that level.   I have beaten people who are pretty good on a totally amateur scale, but never anyone who knows how to memorize every possible move once the game is in play?  I don't know how to be and think like a computer like that.

This is a true story.

I went to a chess bar when I was in my 20's, around the block from where I lived on Carmen St. in North Chicago.  I was so tired and I needed to stay awake for a few more hours, so I went for a winter walk to wake  up.  I passed this bar and I was intrigued.

I somehow got the attention of a man who approached me and asked who I was and did I play chess?  He was much older than I was, very distinguished, and I wanted to talk to him to learn a little about who this man could be.  He was a magician.  He offered me a job as an assistant.

I was not interested.  WHY??? WHAT WAS WRONG WITH ME???? THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN SO AWESOME.  But I was a boring secretary back then and that was where my head was at.

Anyway he played a game of chess with me and wiped me out so entirely, I could not even make a move and he was already many, many moves ahead because he was aware and alert and knew anything an amateur would do.   I was toast.