Active Now

Zack
Malizz
Stu Spelling Bee
Discussion » Questions » Home and Garden » By now, most of you have heard that plants absorb carbon dioxide, thus balancing the amount of oxygen and CO2.

By now, most of you have heard that plants absorb carbon dioxide, thus balancing the amount of oxygen and CO2.

What is not being told is that plants use oxygen from the air for cellular respiration.
Are you still afraid ?

Posted - May 21, 2019

Responses

Not afraid in the least.  Plants and I have been coexisting for 73 years now. This post was edited by SpunkySenior at May 23, 2019 11:34 AM MDT
      May 21, 2019 10:43 AM MDT

This is why I defend my eating of vegetables.  Screw them.  They are trying to kill me.  
      May 21, 2019 10:44 AM MDT

*Big Giggles!*
      May 21, 2019 11:40 AM MDT

That's it!
    On Apollo 13 had they just brought a few plants, they might not have had the carbon dioxide dilemma!
    You should be working with NASA, Element.  You could have solved that problem instantly! ;)
    All the trees, plants, and animals that live in them should be afraid.  There certainly is no lack of CO2 but because we are invading on their territory.
    I am afraid for them.  We are hogging all the oxygen, too.

May 21, 2019 11:47 AM MDT

Not sure if plants can survive in zero gravity, and the problem was quickly solved anyway.
      May 21, 2019 4:14 PM MDT

Schematics and logistics. I know you are right, Stu. It was simply a fun thought.
    Don and I had watched Apollo 13 the night before.
    It was that which promoted the quick-fix  I came up with in hopes of making Element and everyone else who read my answer a quirky, unrealistic smile. It didn't look like they had room for nary a living plant, either..  Maybe some plankton but how would it swim in water?  Please don't answer that.  It wouldn't work.  I'm just "Reaching for the Stars."  Love ya Stu! :) :)
      May 23, 2019 1:09 PM MDT

hahaha
    My heart is with you
      May 21, 2019 6:53 PM MDT