Active Now

Reverend Muhammadovsky
Randy D
Discussion » Questions » Current Events and News » Does your local news still have a sports anchor? Is this still actually a legitimate full time job?

Does your local news still have a sports anchor? Is this still actually a legitimate full time job?

Posted - September 24, 2019

Responses

Yeah...all three stations. All they talk about is the upcoming HS football games, though.
      September 24, 2019 7:35 AM MDT

• I imagine maybe the sports anchor operates in a dual role these days.  "And that's today's sports wrap-up....now if you'll excuse me I have to go mop the break room.  On to Sandy and today's weather."
      September 24, 2019 8:43 AM MDT

And then there is the traffic guy/girl. I wonder what they do for a living.
      September 24, 2019 11:55 AM MDT

• I guess refreshing the view on hundreds of traffic cams for 12 straight hours starting at 5 a.m. 
      September 24, 2019 12:27 PM MDT

Not here. We have about a dozen cams on four major highways. Yawn.
      September 24, 2019 12:49 PM MDT

I don't watch "regular" tv.  WHAT IS THAT?  

Does it even exist any more?  I'm serious.  

September 24, 2019 8:38 AM MDT

• Lol I never watch regular tv anymore either...but the rare instances I do I feel like I'm watching a broadcast from another planet. 
      September 24, 2019 8:42 AM MDT

I no longer watch television but I don't believe the local radio stations have a sports anchor. Sports scores are given by the news anchors.
      September 24, 2019 9:01 AM MDT

• Yeah, he's wicked annoying.
      September 24, 2019 9:03 AM MDT

• Is he a "Super Bro" that gets really loud and cracks jokes about his wife trying to talk to him while sports are on?
      September 24, 2019 12:29 PM MDT

• Nah, but there's a guy like that in Western NY on TV.  He's got your stereotypical Guido meathead on coke voice a persona.

The guy around here is this short and fat old bald dude who's like caricature of 1950s Jewish deli owner.