Active Now

Stu Spelling Bee
Discussion » Questions » Health and Wellness » Hearing loss is on the rise, are you having trouble hearing?

Hearing loss is on the rise, are you having trouble hearing?

I have been wearing hearing aids for many years; they help by increasing the volume of the sounds and decrease background noise and also make the spoken words come out sharper. Only problem for me is that I seem to be almost totally deaf to certain letters to identify spoken words eg you say 'look' and I might only hear the oo and not the l and k. So if a person speaks too many words in a sentence that I cannot identify then I am at a loss to establish what they are saying and that does happen a lot. But I still would not want to leave home without my aids.

Posted - June 4, 2021

Responses

WHAT? SPEAK UP!
      June 4, 2021 2:33 PM MDT

Don't yell, just speak clearly!
      June 4, 2021 3:49 PM MDT

• My hearing loss seems to be inherited, as my father and me started to having hearing issues when we were in our mid-50's.  I've been wearing a hearing aid for the past 15 years, and the hearing aid helps by increasing the volume.  
      June 4, 2021 4:50 PM MDT