Active Now

CosmicWunderkind
Element 99
Danilo_G
Discussion » Questions » Legal » Man who decapitated the Satan statue charged with a hate crime. Is hating Satan a crime?

Man who decapitated the Satan statue charged with a hate crime. Is hating Satan a crime?

Posted - January 31

Responses

I get from where you come, I believe. I looked up a story about it when I saw your question and I sort of get the hate crime charge.
    Based on what I read, the statue was part of a public display in the USA. The statue was part of a display produced by a man who follows the religion of Satanism. The man charged admitted that he attacked the statue because of that man's religion, i.e., attacking the display because of someone's religious beliefs.
    And with Freedom of Religion part of USA's makeup, I sort of get the charge.

I'm no legal expert, though.
      February 1, 2024 6:07 PM MST

I have no problem saying I hate Satan and Satanism. And a statue of Satan does not belong in any gov building.
      February 1, 2024 6:36 PM MST

The story I had read had mentioned it was only up during the holidays:

"It had been allowed in Iowa's statehouse under rules that permit religious installations for two weeks during the holidays."

In this specific case in this statehouse, I'm thinking all religions needed to be accepted if religious installations were allowed for two weeks during the holidays and freedom of religion is part of the country.

February 2, 2024 6:10 AM MST

Sure real religions...Christianity,  Judaism, Islam, Buddhist, Hindu,  etc. 

Satanism is not a religion it is people getting together to reject religion. 
    "Members say they don't actually believe in a literal Lucifer or Hell. Instead, they say Satan is a metaphor for questioning authority, and grounding your beliefs in science. The sense of community around these shared values makes it a religion, they say."   https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-65549975
      February 2, 2024 5:50 PM MST