Active Now

Discussion » Questions » Business » Just got let go from my first job. How do I cope with this situation?

Just got let go from my first job. How do I cope with this situation?

It happened this past Thursday, after only 9 weeks. I was 1 of 2 AutoCad Drafters for a family-owned food service company, doing commercial kitchen floor plan layouts (I graduated in December w/ a BFA in Interior Design, and kitchen design is something I’ve always been interested in).

Long story short, I was let go because I didn’t have all the mechanical, electrical, and plumbing knowledge that was needed for the position... but the thing is, they KNEW this when they hired me. And they hired me anyway, with the understanding that they would train and teach me everything I needed to know, acting like it would be no problem whatsoever. Now I’ve been let go for that same reason, with my now ex-boss saying that “the company is falling behind on projects” and, “never in the history of the company have I had to pay to outsource these projects so we can get the mechanical and electrical part done. I’m spending a lot of money and the learning curve is just too big, and I need someone in here who can come in and do it from day one.”

While I fully understand his reasoning, I was blind-sided and didn’t see this coming at all. I did everything that was asked of me, everyday, for my boss and all the other design sales people, and was being told by everyone all throughout my time there (except my boss, who was an a-hole anyway, and I’m not/ wasn’t the only one with that opinion) how I was doing a good job, learning quickly, and how “I’d get it all eventually”. I don’t think it was right to be hired, only to be made to feel 9 weeks later that I’m bringing the company down, and the design salespeople are at risk of losing their livelihoods b/c I didn’t have 100% the scope of knowledge, esp. when the company said they would teach me.

Posted - May 6, 2019

Responses