Active Now

Danilo_G
Discussion » Questions » Jobs » I'm a driver, a pilot and a sailor. But, we'll NEVER be that hands on again.. In short order, everything will be self driving, flying or sailing, and all we'll be, is passengers. Is that good?

I'm a driver, a pilot and a sailor. But, we'll NEVER be that hands on again.. In short order, everything will be self driving, flying or sailing, and all we'll be, is passengers. Is that good?

Posted - September 20, 2016

Responses

Not good. 

September 20, 2016 11:49 AM MDT

I like things better the way they were than the way things are changing . We are accomplishing many technological things but society wise I think we are going backwards  it's sad. 

September 20, 2016 11:52 AM MDT

• It's a dumb and ultimately, a pointless idea.

September 20, 2016 12:01 PM MDT

• Truth!

September 20, 2016 12:01 PM MDT

Hello RR:

Well, the 30,000 who die in car wrecks every year might disagree with you.

excon

September 20, 2016 12:05 PM MDT

Hey there ex...

Yes and No...

I think we should, especially in our urban centers move towards a more "passenger" based form of transportation. However if all we do is stick new technology into old devices, we are talking one step forward and two steps back.

Driverless cars still require an infrastructure of roads and parking much the same as it is now.

How much space is wasted in urban centers by these roads and parking needs. If we eliminated them we could condense these areas making it easier to get from place to place.

For me, it is not a question of improving cars to use an existing method, but rather coming up with a new method...

September 20, 2016 12:17 PM MDT

• That's not really that big of a number when taken in context of the driving population.

Doubt these self driving cars relying on sensitive and complicated automated electronic systems will help all that much. I'd rather be in control than rely on electronics.