Active Now

Malizz
Danilo_G
my2cents
Discussion » Questions » Legal » Do you need a cop with a gun to respond to...

Do you need a cop with a gun to respond to...

1.  A man sleeping in his car??

2.  A dispute over a fake $20 bill??

3.  A man selling un-taxed cigarettes??

4.  Some boys smoking pot behind the bodega?

5.  A driver making an illegal left turn?

6.  Someone a snitch said had cocaine in their closet?

7.  A man yelling at his wife?

8.  A black man jogging through a white neighborhood?

9.  A misbehaving child at school?

10.  A jaywalker?

11.  A shoplifter?

Posted - June 24, 2020

Responses

I think I get your point.
    And, yes, perhaps in those situations a gun would not need to be used (and I realize they have been unfortunately used) but, in general (and I admit I'm no expert), with the nature of the profession, I believe a police officer may need to be armed at all times, with the training on when the use of a weapon is necessary.

EDIT: That lengthy answer I wrote. Shorter version:  Though I'm not an officer, yes, with the nature of the profession, I'd think an officer needs to be armed all the time.

This post was edited by WelbyQuentin at June 24, 2020 4:03 PM MDT
      June 24, 2020 9:12 AM MDT

Yes. Those are all crimes. Cops are who we send to respond to those situtations.  
    We send cops because people do not listen to other people. 

1. The man "sleeping" in his car....blocking the drive-thru (illegal) did not listen when the employee asked him to move his car.  

2. Counterfeit money (illegal)  I do not know what happened between the sidewalk and the car. But a firearm was not used by the officer.  And I hope those officers rot in prison. And the main one deserves the death penalty.

3. Untaxed cigarettes. (Illegal) He asked to leave the property by the owner (this was a regular occurrence).  Cop should stay away from the neck.  (Again case of no firearm used by the officer)

The rest....Again it is illegal.