Active Now

WelbyQuentin
Discussion » Questions » Business » In your opinion, has “The customer’s always right” motto gone too far and how much is it abused?

In your opinion, has “The customer’s always right” motto gone too far and how much is it abused?

I‘ve witnesses several incidents at stores where the customer is way out of line, verbaly abusive, and hostile until a manager arrives. Then their stories change and they’re the victims. Every time the customer was catered to and given what they want. It irritates the dickens out of me. 

Posted - September 6, 2018

Responses

As a business owner, I can tell you "No the customer is not always right."

The trick is correct them without being rude so you don't loose a customer. 
      September 6, 2018 7:37 PM MDT

I agree. Thank you for responding. 
      September 6, 2018 7:41 PM MDT

I have always felt businesses need to support and back their employees when needed. If employees are mistreated they are disgruntled, angry, and bitter. This means a higher chance they will mistreat customers. It’s a tough balance to maintain, but must be done. 
      September 6, 2018 7:52 PM MDT

Definately, you cannot allow your employees to be abused. I have had customers do that with my children who help. I seen them behave one way with my kids and then switch when I came up to the front. 
    None abusive but they were trying hard to talk them into a discount, pointing out "flaws" in the product and trying say two products where sold as a set. 
    A happy employee makes for a better customer relationship.
      September 7, 2018 5:49 AM MDT

First one has to find out if there is a legitimate complaint with a product or service; check the evidence.
    If there is, it has to be dealt with honestly.
    In an honest situation, the customer's anger will disappear as soon as the problem has been fixed.

From time to time a customer may be a rage addict who takes out his or her frustrations on shop assistants,