Active Now

Danilo_G
Malizz
Discussion » Questions » Beauty » Have any of you lightened/ bleached your hair? What was the experience like?

Have any of you lightened/ bleached your hair? What was the experience like?

I've been fantasizing about dying my hair light blue for probably two years now, but my natural color is kind of a chestnut brown and is long; almost to my butt. I've talked to a couple stylists about it and one told me not to do it- that the process to lighten/ bleach it would fry it. I did it at home once a decade ago and it did. I was so sad I eventually just hacked it all off. However, another stylist said if I very gradually lighten it; go in every two weeks and bring it down a shade, I can get it light enough to take the blue without ruining it. But... those visits are something like $150 each and it would take four. Then, the coloring would be after. I don't quite feel like indulging my fantasy is worth $800. I keep looking at home kits, but I'm also not sure I'll do it right. :/ 

Did any of you guys ever go lighter? What was it like? Did you fry your hair? Were you happy?

Posted - December 15, 2018

Responses

I don't really have the hairstyle for it.
      December 15, 2018 8:18 PM MST

Yes and No.
    I have dirty blonde hair on the natch.  In the summer it streaks by itself in the oddest and fun ways from the sun and the ocean.  There is no way of really controlling it when left to itself.  It has a personality all its own and is never the same, year after year.
    I have lightened it with lemon in the summer sun and it has worked to accelerate the natural process.  I like it but it is not asking it to do anything other than what it does naturally.