Active Now

Malizz
Danilo_G
Discussion » Questions » Beauty » Have any of you lightened/ bleached your hair? What was the experience like?

Have any of you lightened/ bleached your hair? What was the experience like?

I've been fantasizing about dying my hair light blue for probably two years now, but my natural color is kind of a chestnut brown and is long; almost to my butt. I've talked to a couple stylists about it and one told me not to do it- that the process to lighten/ bleach it would fry it. I did it at home once a decade ago and it did. I was so sad I eventually just hacked it all off. However, another stylist said if I very gradually lighten it; go in every two weeks and bring it down a shade, I can get it light enough to take the blue without ruining it. But... those visits are something like $150 each and it would take four. Then, the coloring would be after. I don't quite feel like indulging my fantasy is worth $800. I keep looking at home kits, but I'm also not sure I'll do it right. :/ 

Did any of you guys ever go lighter? What was it like? Did you fry your hair? Were you happy?

Posted - December 15, 2018

Responses

• "No" ... just dye it silver and start getting senior discounts early!

December 15, 2018 11:36 AM MST

lol Actually, my daughter called me old yesterday and noted how much gray hair I already have. :/ I told her it was her fault. :o
      December 15, 2018 1:57 PM MST

• Well ... that's probably be true. :))   My father was almost completely grey when he was thirty-five and I went to Elementary School with a boy that had grey hair at twelve ... just at the temples and salt & peppered in the rest.

This post was edited by Benedict Arnold at December 25, 2018 5:46 PM MST
      December 15, 2018 3:06 PM MST