Active Now

Element 99
Danilo_G
Randy D
Malizz
my2cents
Discussion » Questions » Language » Do you talk good?

Do you talk good?

Posted - August 8, 2019

Responses

Nope 
      August 8, 2019 4:11 PM MDT

I would say so.....:) 
      August 8, 2019 4:19 PM MDT

talk good well
      August 8, 2019 4:43 PM MDT

And you did a well job of correcting me.
      August 8, 2019 6:21 PM MDT

I talk proper. 
      August 8, 2019 4:48 PM MDT

• I talk too loud
    Too fast
    Too high pitched
    About the silliest of things.

I'm a fairly decent writer though.
    I know a few ten dollar words.

I have a very big dic....tionary.
      August 8, 2019 5:02 PM MDT

I usually speak well. 
      August 8, 2019 5:54 PM MDT

Most often Americans say I talk Gibberish....  Quite often I can only agree with them... I blame the drink really ,as I tend to stutter when I can't get enough to neck....:( 
      August 8, 2019 6:58 PM MDT

I does
      August 8, 2019 7:25 PM MDT

I "talk (about) 'Pop Muzik' "

This post was edited by WelbyQuentin at August 9, 2019 8:09 PM MDT
      August 8, 2019 7:40 PM MDT

Can do, given a chance and an interested listener.

Depends on what you mean by "talk good."

One teacher of English as an Additional Language described the way I talk as "bookish."
    When I asked why he said because I speak with correct grammar and subtle syntax.
    I would put it down to origin - hearing correct grammar from birth.
    Dad forbad "baby language."
    He was a writer and journalist (among other things) - extremely pedantic.
    My sister and I were sent to bed without dinner if we used slang, inappropriate words or bad grammar.
    Even tone of voice and accent (the Queen's English - no strine) had to be just right:
    respectful, with instant and honest answers to questions - no second chances.

If you mean, am I a good conversationalist - just give me a chance and decide for yourself.
    Try it here if you like -
    with a string of replies on this thread.