Discussion » Questions » Jobs » new girl in workplace

new girl in workplace

I work in a male dominated profession. I recently took a new job. I have been working for a corporation for 3 months. Men are constantly being so friendly and flirty towards me. It is somewhat annoying. Most of the guys around me are former military, married, or just too old for me. There are young men there but they're not the problem. I recently encountered a dude sending me an instant message at work asking if he can take me out for lunch. I didn't respond. He has been trying to get my attention and come over to my desk to talk to me. He's coming off too forward and like a bugaboo.How do I handle the unwanted attention without being rude and unprofessional? I am socially awkward and when I am annoyed I can become mean. Lol

Posted - June 27, 2016

Responses

• Just do your job and you'll encourage others to do theirs.  You might have to just be blunt and tell them you're there to work and aren't interested in anything else.  As soon as they realize you're not going to "bite" .. they'll probably back off.  If not, then talk to your supervisor about it.

June 27, 2016 6:14 AM MDT

• Put a sign on your desk and just keep adding to it... popping 1 .. I'm here to work not date... 2 .. No, I don't want to do lunch ... just keep adding as required ... good luck with the new job :)

June 27, 2016 6:17 AM MDT

"Popping"?

:|
      June 27, 2016 7:25 AM MDT

Just say i am sorry but i am not interested in you that way....  Try to say it of you can to him only.. Like try not to make a big public loud announcement...   If he persists then yeah you can go for a more public put down.. 

June 27, 2016 7:26 AM MDT

• I know, I know ... bloody auto correct raises it's ugly head again ... should have been point 1 ... the shame

June 27, 2016 7:36 AM MDT

Just tell them you have a boyfriend.
      June 27, 2016 9:44 AM MDT

I don't believe you.

June 27, 2016 10:07 AM MDT
  • Bez