Active Now

CosmicWunderkind
Danilo_G
my2cents
Malizz
Discussion » Questions » Transportation » What were the circumstances under which you received your first citation for a moving violation as a motorist?

What were the circumstances under which you received your first citation for a moving violation as a motorist?

[~]

Posted - September 23, 2021

Responses

I'm a good driver.  I've never received a citation (knock on wood). 
      September 23, 2021 11:04 AM MDT

I got nailed for going through a red light and I decided to contest the charge. I explained to the judge that at a certain speed approaching a red light can cause a red shift making the light appear green. So then that smart prosecutor explained to the judge the fact that I would have to be traveling at least 250,000 mph to achieve that effect. So the judge fined me for speeding.
      September 23, 2021 11:24 AM MDT

That happened in 1972. I was late for work and I passed someone on a double yellow line. The State Police got me. I had to appear before the local judge and pay my fine. That was the only citation/ticket I ever received in my 54 years of driving. This is surprising considering my first new car was a 1968 Plymouth Roadrunner. :)
      September 23, 2021 11:31 AM MDT